Collagraph Process

Picture8

For the medium of my book I decided to make a series of tiny collagraphs showing collections from around the city. I have done collagraphs before so I could visualise them working well for this. I find that collagraphs can sometimes look slightly  3 Dimensional because the plates seem to emboss the paper it is pressed onto.

Picture9The inking technique I mostly used was Intaglio, where you load up the collagraph plates with ink, and then take most of the ink off, leaving ink in any scratches or crevices. I also used a roller on some of them for when I wanted more of a graduating colour.

I have previously tried out colour schemes in my sketchbook and liked more subtle colours, like a deep blue colour combined with a rusty colour. I wanted a similar colour scheme going through my book.

 



Leave a comment